Driving with a Suspended License in GA

Driving with a Suspended License in GA

In Georgia, your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked for several reasons. While a suspension means a temporary freeze on your driving privileges, a revocation means the termination of your driving privileges. 

Georgia, like all other states, adds points to your driver’s license upon convictions of certain violations. The state’s point system ranges from two to six points. A maximum of seven points can be reduced once every five years. 

The following is a list of common traffic offenses and how many points each are worth: 

  • Speeding between 15 and 18 mph over the speed limit – 2 points 

  • Speeding between 19 and 23 mph over the speed limit – 3 points 

  • Speeding between 24 and 33 mph over the speed limit – 4 points 

  • Speeding at least 34 mph over the speed limit – 6 points 

  • Reckless driving – 4 points 

  • Aggressive driving – 6 points 

  • Unlawfully passing a school bus – 6 points 

  • Driving with an open container – 2 points 

  • Texting while driving – 1 point 

If you earn a minimum of 15 points on your driving record within two years, your driver’s license will be suspended. However, a few criminal offenses (e.g., DUI, vehicular assault, vehicular homicide, and driving without carrying insurance) can lead to driver’s license suspension or revocation. 

Driving with a suspended or revoked license is serious offense in Georgia. A first offense is punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 12 months and a fine of no more than $1,000. 

A second or third offense within five years is a “high and aggravated misdemeanor” misdemeanor, which carries a jail term of up to 12 months and a maximum fine of $2,500. A fourth or subsequent offense within five years is a felony, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of five years and a fine not exceeding $5,000. 

If you are deemed a “habitual offender,” you may face different penalties. The court can classify you as a habitual offender if your driver’s license has been revoked after being convicted of at least three driving-related offenses within a five-year period. 

If you have been arrested or cited with a traffic offense in Hinesville or Hinesville, call Balbo & Gregg, Attorneys at Law, PC at (866) 580-3089 or fill out our online contact form today to schedule a free consultation. Our legal team has more than 40 years of collective experience!