Read why you should hire Balbo & Gregg Click here to see what they say about us. See our publications and videos

Charged with DUI this Holiday Season?

Have you been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) this holiday season? If so, it is crucial that you do not panic and that you focus on controlling your situation. Any arrest can be a terrifying experience, especially if you have never had a run-in with the law before. To help clear up your situation and let you know where you stand, our firm has put together a short list of tips that can help you assess your situation and protect yourself against any further charges.

What Penalties Do I Face?

In Georgia, a DUI is a serious offense that can carry a number of harsh legal consequences. Even for a first offense, anyone who blows a 0.08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or higher automatically faces a mandatory 24-hour jail stint. Additional penalties will range in severity depending on the number of prior offenses that a person has on their record and whether or not they refused to take a chemical test.

A first-offense DUI in Georgia can bring the following penalties:

  • Fines up to $1,000
  • Up to one year in jail
  • At least 20 hours of community service
  • Mandatory participation in an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program
  • A minimum one year driver's license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device usage

In addition to legal consequences, a DUI can affect a person's reputation and ability to find employment as well.

What Should I Do?

After an arrest, it can be confusing to know what to do. First and foremost, it is imperative that you exercise your right to remain silent and refrain from answering any questions that the police may ask. Law enforcement officials are intimately familiar with the law and will likely try to steer the conversation in a direction that prompts you to say something incriminatory. Do not give them the chance!

Within 10 days of your arrest, you must request an Administrative License Suspension Hearing (ALS) before the Department of Drivers Services (DDS) in order to plead to keep your license. If this time limit expires, your license will be suspended and you will not be able to appeal. For this reason, it is vital that you contact a trial-tested criminal defense lawyer who can provide a strong defense on your behalf at this hearing and protect your interests in a court of law.

Call (866) 580-3089 for Powerful Representation

If you have been charged with DUI in Hinesville or Richmond Hill, Georgia, it is imperative that you retain the services of a hard-hitting criminal defense lawyer from Balbo & Gregg, Attorneys at Law, PC. With more than 25 years of combined legal experience, our lawyers can use their vast legal knowledge to tear apart the prosecution's claims and maximize your chances of securing a desirable outcome for your situation. Request a free consultation today to get started towards retaining the defense you need!

Categories: Criminal Defense, DUI

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Attorney Web Design
Balbo & Gregg, Attorneys at Law, PC - Hinesville Criminal Defense Attorney

Two locations to serve you:
11258 Ford Avenue, Suite 11 Richmond Hill, GA 31324 View Map
410 W General Screven Way Hinesville, GA 31313
Phone: (866) 580-3089 | Local Phone: (912) 459-1776.
Website:

© 2013 All Rights Reserved.